Year-Round Throwing

As kids start to finish their summer seasons, the offseason starts to come into play. Most people take a month or two off from throwing. Most coaches recommend that players take a month or two off. I read an article somewhere about Max Scherzer. He used to take time off during the offseason earlier in his career from throwing. But in recent years he has not taken time off from throwing, using the logic of “kids throw every single day and never have arm injuries” or something to that extent. I’m on his side. I feel like baseball players should throw consistently. I’m not an expert, but it seems to me that taking a month or two or more could put the arm under more stress because it’s less conditioned. I wanted to get other people’s opinions on this.

You are going to get people in two camps to varying degrees…take a set period of consecutive time off (3 months or whatever) or else it is foolish/abusive…on the other side are the folks who think year round throwing is fine. Prescribing the same sort of programming for a 14 year old who throws 40 innings spread over six months of playing and is trying to develop skill as a pro pitcher who is throwing two hundred high stress, high velocity innings is foolish. The flip side is overuse of course. The extremes of either side are not wise in my opinion.
Things to consider is age, physical maturity, how many innings/pitches have been thrown in the last three, six months, what velocity does the person throw with?
Personally, I like year round throwing with some break periods mixed in. But, I also don’t agree with year round playing.
If you are going to throw year round (not pitch, but throw) have a plan…arm care and recovery are key components.