Workout results

How long does an average program of weight traning take to see results? I have been working out for 3 months now and I havent seen an increase in my fastball (65 -70mph (14yr.old)). I am working on upper body and core Doing: bench press, shoulder rasies, triceps with bands, different types of curls, wrist excerses, sit ups, planks and side situps? Any suggestions, my gym has all types of machines and it is 10 to 15 min away from my house. I go mon, wed, and fri.

BTW I am 5’ 6" and 110(trying to gain weight) I throw 6 or 7 days a week with at least 4 days with long toss.

You have no exposive exercises in your routine. Try adding some olympic lifts like snatches or clean and jerks (and any of the variations like hang cleans, one arm DB snatches, etc.).

Remember that you want your body to accelerate quickly in a short amount of time. Bench pressing will help your overall strength, but most people do the movement very slow and deliberate. Also, you might want to add some more rotational movements, like russian twists and wood choppers.

Edit: the 110 pounds thing explains a lot. You really need to eat more. Lots more. Weight lifting wont have any effect if you dont give your body the calories it needs to build larger muscles. You need to be eating from the minute you wake up until right before bed. (Peanut butter sandwiches are good portable snacks for weight gaining. :wink: )

I do agree with KC on the explosive excersises. Atleast some power excersises (most things I have read say the squat and deadlift are far superior to the bench press in terms of total body strength and power).

If you choose to keep what you are currently doing, I recommend you atleast balance your routine. By this I mean for ever movement do some form of it’s opposite. That would be for instance bench press: some type of rowing motion.

Bench works chest and tris, a row will work your back and bi’s.