What part of your delivery are you working on right now?

Pitchers, even professionals, are constantly refining their pitching mechanics. It’s a never ending process. What aspect(s) of your own delivery are you working right now? Everyone should have something to share…

I am actually a pitching coach, but I am going to be, when legal to do so, working with pitchers on staying closed. We have an outstanding core of high school pitchers coming back, and as great of success as they have had, most seem to have the same problem. Staying closed. Many of them blow open and drop their gloves down very early in their delivery. I am looking for as many drills to correct this as possible. We have two pitchers in particular, one who can hit 90, and another in the mid 80’s that both have bad front sides. So, I am upset at the rules against coaching right now during open gyms, because I don’t want to see them get hurt. But, what can you do.

I need to work on hip/shoulder separation.

As a coach/instructor…

Got two pitchers currently working on stabilizing posture through the delivery up to release point. Will move onto other things once this foundation is established.

Got one pitcher working on maximizing hip/shoulder separation to see if we can squeeze a couple more mph out of him.

Got one pitcher - a glove puller - working on getting to the NPA’s “equal and opposite” position at foot plant and then transitioning to the NPA’s “swivel and stabilize” position. He’s also working on timing of shoulder rotation by getting to “equal and opposite” at foot plant and by adding a slight counter-rotation of the shoulders at first forward movement.

Got an entire travel team working on stabilizing posture and glove.

Roger,

Any recent refinements or changes to your approach for optimizing hip/shoulder separation?