What is the average amount of strikes a 13 year old throws

i have been pitching for 5 years strait. and I throw about 80% strikes I’m pretty sure this is pretty good but i want to know how much is the average strikes a 13 year old normally throws?

The MLB average is around 62% strikes.

Is that the average for when they were 13 or how old they are now?

The MLB average means very little to a 13 year old player. The strike zones called by umps in youth ball are much more generous and the batters are much more likely to swing at bad pitches.

My point was that if the MLB average is 62%, 80% is pretty good, all things equal! Of course strike zones are different, as are the batters, and the bats, and the field dimensions, and the umpires, and everything else, but that wasn’t the question!

MLB means in MLB.

At 13 years old, an 80% Strike rate is very good. We use the A3P scoring system at our high school to rate pitching performance. We want a 66% A3P score as the benchmark and we drive for no less than a 50% rate. If a pitcher is not in the 50% rate and above, we know our chance of winning the game is slim.

At 13 you need to start thinking about how hit-able your strikes are to a batter. Throwing strikes will no longer just be good enough once you hit the HS level. Kids that make the HS teams can hit the ball. So, does your strikes relate to swing and misses? Do your strikes induce ground balls? Are you a pop fly pitcher? Do you live low and on the outside of the plate? How lively is your FB and have your started working on a change-up and possibly a curve? 13 is the age to start working on the curve and hopefully you already have a “REAL” change-up and not the standard “throw it slower” little league change up.

what is an A3P score? i can’t find a definition online

A3P (Attack in 3 Pitches) was created by Missou as a way to track their pitchers ability to “get ahead in the count.”