What do you do after pitching to aid in recovery?

I’m interested in seeing what everybody does.

I usually run 2-5 miles depending on how much time I have, eat a banana, take 2 advil depending on how sore I am, do some arm circles and tubing exercises. Next day I usually rest or do light throwing.

I’m a coach - not a pitcher. The “Run/Stretch” optiion is a good one although any form of light cardio - including exercise bike, treadmill, etc. works.

One option you didn’t include in your list was “nutrition”.

Cuff work and two advil the night of.

25 minute jog the next morning, accompanied with a light total body workout and a little more than a light throwing session.

Day 2 - Side session, Core workout, pnf shoulder training.

Day 3 - Long toss / Sprint work

Day 4 - Light throwing / Sprint work

I do sprints right after I’m done with my outing. Then later that night I do alot of soft tissue work (Foam Rolling). The next day I do a heavy workout with weights in the morning. Then later that night I go for a long run about 4 miles. Also focus alot on the nutrition aspect of recovery. I also do alot of soft tissue work for my shoulder and body during the week. LOTS OF SLEEP!

What affect does running have after your done pitching? Does it get the blood flowing somewhere else than in your arm?

Running gets the blood flowing throughout the entire body including the arm but without further working the arm. More blood flow means more oxygen and other nutrients.

I think that sprints are the best option after a game. Its been studied that blood flow directs itself to the muscles being worked. So if you do light jogging most of your blood flow is going to be to you legs. Now I’m not saying that your arms wont get any blood flow delivered to them because they will, but sprinting is a total body movement. You really have to pump your arms fast to sprint effectively. That means more blood flow through out your body and to your arm.