What do i need to do?

There is a few select schools that i want to play baseball for. And im only a sophomore BUT i believe this is my year wear i make it or break it. But i was wondering how i should write the letter to these schools (most likely Email). And should i send it to the Head Coach or the Athletic Director?

By the way it is DIII. But also the reason i want to get noticed now is because my school is very small and were not really any good. But i know my skills are pretty good and i know if i work harder then i know i can for sure make it. I just need them to see me play which wont happen unless i send the email.

Advice?

I was in a similar situation to you a few years ago. Here’s my advice.

If you want a athletic scholarship, you won’t get one. D III doesn’t give them out. I would e-mail both the coach and the AD.

Tell them you are willing to make a trip to the school to talk to them. I will tell you if you don’t have the grades to get in they won’t make an exception for an athlete.

When you e-mail them tell them about your self, why you want to play baseball, and why you want to attend that school. Also tell them your school, grades, and give them your guidance counciler’s or VP’s contact information.

DON’T
-Tell them your height / weight
-What pitches you throw
-Or how fast you throw them
They don’t care about these things.

The coach and AD will probably tell you that you need the grades to get in the school, and then you basically walk-on to the team.

It is good that your taking the initiative to talk to the coaches this early.

Notice I said nothing about a pitching session. At D III schools athletes are walk-on’s. It’s the same way as high school, except they are more selective in who make’s the team. A coach may try to convince you to go to that school but it is not the same recruiting process used for DI schools.

My best advice is just be yourself, be honest, and remember playing baseball is a privilege at DIII schools, grades come first.