Weighted Balls

I have come across many different training programs tied to many different piching coach philosophies. As a pitching coach, I am always looking for innovative ways to improve pitching performances. The use of weighted balls are one of the new things im considering to add to my training program. I have never experimented with weighted balls in the past. Does anybody out there have positive or negative experiences they would like to share regarding this method of training???

Shawn Ryan
                                                               Pitching Coach
                                                               Hebron(IN) High School

See 9/02 - page 12

Thanks for the info on weighted ball training. Very helpful. And thanks to Steven for your link to Pitching Aids.com because the 4 and 6 ounce balls are hard to find.

[quote=“Shawn Ryan”]I have come across many different training programs tied to many different piching coach philosophies. As a pitching coach, I am always looking for innovative ways to improve pitching performances. The use of weighted balls are one of the new things im considering to add to my training program. I have never experimented with weighted balls in the past. Does anybody out there have positive or negative experiences they would like to share regarding this method of training???

Shawn Ryan
                                                               Pitching Coach
                                                               Hebron(IN) High School[/quote]

Shawn, I have had alot of success using weighted baseballs. I have also had alot of success training high school shotputters and discus throwers using the exact same methodology.