Weighted Balls (Everyone Please Express Your Opinions)

What do you guys think about weighted balls? I’m thinking about maybe getting some and long tossing with them. Also where do you get them? Does anyone just use a water-logged baseball? Thanks For Your Time…

They have the potential to be beneficial for a pitcher if used correctly.

I have no personal experience with them However, there are lots of people who claim they work. Some weighted baseball sets come with 4oz, 5oz and 6oz balls while other sets come with balls that differ from the normal 5oz ball by more than 1oz. It was my impression that you should only use the 4oz, 5oz, and 6oz balls and you should follow a well-established overload/underload program.

I’ve also heard it said that the weighted balls work only as long as you continue using them implying that their benefit goes away if you stop using them.

I’m skeptical, since most of a pitcher’s velocity is generated in the torso, not the arm or shoulder.

I think that some of the gains that have been seen have come from all the added practice, not the over/under-weight balls.

I’d like to see details on the studies to see how they were constructed and to make sure that confounding wasn’t a problem.

[quote=“Chris O’Leary”]I’d like to see details on the studies to see how they were constructed and to make sure that confounding wasn’t a problem.[/quote]Dr. Brent Rushall is strong in his contention that ALL of the “studies” that propose velocity benefits of under/overload training are in fact “confounded” regarding scientific method. It’s all in his new book co-authored with Mills. I’m not qualified to evaluate the validity of his evaluations but his arguments are compelling.

Glad to see that I’m not alone on this.

The problem is that I have never been able to see the original studies, and see how they were designed (e.g. what the control groups did). Instead, I’ve only seen the results.