WEIGHT GAIN

I am 18 years old 6’3 and weight about 170 lbs. i want to gain about 20 lbs for the season. What kinds of food should i eat to gain weight but i want it to be lean mass not fat.
please help

I’m no expert on dieting but I would say high calories and high protein and you will also have to lift weights. You have to take in more than you burn in daily exercises so I would get on a 5,000 to 6,000 calorie diet depending on how active you are. Lifting will turn the protein into lean muscle mass.

Here is two important excerpts from the link I pulled. You willl want to read it all. It is very benificial information.

“In the first installment of “How to Gain Lean Bodyweight” we discussed how to determine the optimal number of calories to consume in order to gain fat-free bodyweight. While knowing your ideal calorie requirement is important, there are other factors that must also be accounted for. All calories are not utilized in the same fashion by the body. 3200 calories of ice cream, pizza, doughnuts, potato chips and soda obviously won’t have the same effect as 3200 calories from egg whites, lean meats, fruits, rice, potatoes, vegetables, fruits and whole grains. While calories are the chief element in the muscle-gaining formula, meal ratios, meal frequency and food choices also must be factored into the equation.”

“One-third of your total daily calories or approximately 30% should come from protein. Forget about the “Recommended Daily Allowances” (RDA’s) of 12-15% of daily calories from protein. The RDA’s do not account for increased requirements for intense training and muscular weight gain. The RDA’s are merely a minimal standard for maintaining health, not for achieving optimal performance, strength and growth. A 15% protein diet may be adequate for a couch potato, but it is completely inadequate for someone who is training hard and wants to pack on the pounds.”

http://www.leehayward.com/gain_bodyweight_2.htm