Warmup/Activation and Recovery

I am a high school pitching coach looking to revamp my Warmup/Activation and Recovery for my pitchers. I would love to hear what some of you guys are doing in these areas.

Could you explain the term “recovery?”

Also, are you looking for suggestions for the preseason, prime playing season, or post season play?

The reasons for my asking is that there is so much between the lines of your question, that I’d like to address these questions with more to go on. Why? Aside from the recovery question that I posted above, your players forming your pitching staff have unique experience, physical and endurance attributes.

Also your pitching staff is going to change year after year - thus incoming freshmen or even sophomores may require a greater stewardship and observations, tailoring pregame and bullpen duty.

Do you have assistants with some sort of dependability, knowledge, and commitment? Or are you alone and winging it?
By the way, my question about “winging it” is not meant to degrade your ability or experiences. On the other hand, if you’re all alone with a minimum roster just to make showing up, you’re done before you even start. Why? Because like most coaches in that kind of situation, you’ll be pulling kids off the field to pitch as relievers - and it’s a downhill ride from there.

So, could you give us a makeup of your club - how many dedicated pitchers, how many returning with experience pitchers - your starters, relievers, sacrificial pitchers? Are you grooming pitchers to take over the lead for those that are leaving? What is the pitch inventory of those pitchers this season - fastball, sliders, curveball, off-speed, sinker, knuckleballers, and so forth?