Varsity as a Freshman

I’m a freshman in high school, a public school in middle Massachusetts. I have a fastball that sits at 75 mph, a changeup with about a 15 mph speed difference with a drop, and a developing curveball, the school I go to is consistently one of the weakest pitching teams in the state, with only one good pitcher. My AAU coach has told me I have a shot at varsity, but does anyone have any tips on what I should do, at tryouts or elsewhere?

I also am decent at hitting and very good defensively.

Im a sophomore and I just made varsity. At freshman year I was throwing 78-80MPH and played SS and 3B. Never even went up to JV and stayed freshman. My school is average and isn’t even that great. I feel if the Varsity coach doesn’t know you that well he will want to see how you perform at “your” level before bumping you up to varsity. Now I throw 82-84MPH and I am now a Pitcher only on my varsity team.

tips would probably include hustling all the time, being infinitely coachable and being a versatile guy. Show your coach that you can play everywhere just as good as the regulars.

Making the varsity squad as a freshman is not a big deal. HONEST! Play at the freshman level. OWN IT! Be seen because you are OWNING IT! Learn to become a leader as the players on the team see you as one of the best. Help make the other players better. Remember, these are the guys you are going to be playing with when you are a Junior and a Senior.