Types of Coaches

This is from an e-mail I got from Coach Baker, I’d like to get everyones opinion on the subject, and I’d also like to thank him for the thoughtful contribution he has brought to our site… I’ve been a volunteer coach now for 20+ years…2 family members 10 years apart from t-ball to, well now my youngest is going to be a senior this coming year.

[u]I’ll continue this at a later date…

Amateur Baseball Coaches – Agendas, Benefits and Limitations

Three (3) Basic Types of Amateur Baseball Coaches

1. Volunteer
  2. Semi-professional
  3. Professional
    Volunteer
    The volunteer baseball coach is the most prolific and spans the complete spectrum of competitive baseball. They’re found at the T-Ball level and well into the collegiate game. Most of these coaches are transit. In other words they move along an age or talent level that parallels a family member or a social group. These coaches have a wide disparity in competency ranging from no experience to highly experienced. A major portion of this coaching population seems to serve the fifteen and under level. This age group normally draws a generic coach that is not well suited to coaching position players. Going beyond the fifteen year old age group usually requires a higher degree of competency which draws semi-professional and professional into the picture. There are exceptions of course. Some clubs lwith the American Legion and similar programs have had good success with a core of coaches that are strictly volunteers. However, the majority of volunteer coaching pool often finds it difficult meeting the travel and competition schedules that are associated with the older players.

What benefits can a young player look for with the volunteer coach with varying degrees of experience?