Transfering from D3 to D1

I am currently a freshman LHP at a Division 3 school. I also play quarterback on the football team for the college. I was recently signed to play in the New York Collegiate Baseball League as a freshman. I am 6’4 1/2" tall and weigh about 190 pounds. I was clocked at throwing 84 MPH in the fall but at that time I was only throwing baseball about twice a week because I was involved in football. My coaches predict me to be throwing around 84 to 87 MPH in the spring once I begin a throwing routine. I throw a 2 seam fastball that has a lot of movement and I have the ability to throw strikes. I also throw a cut fastball, change up, and curveball. My curveball was graded as an average MLB curve at an MLB Open Tryout this past summer. I am considering transferring to a D1 school for my sophomore year. My ultimate goal is to be able to sign an MLB contract. I do have some connection to a D1 school but I just want people’s opinions on what they think my chances of securing a roster spot on a D1 team would be. Thanks. Should I stay where I’m at or try to transfer up.

As you stated your ultimate goal is to obtain a major league contract. Very few D3 pitchers do that. But it is not impossible. I could name a few. That velocity is going to have to come up some though.

Now, what about transferring to a DI school increases your chances? IMO…it could only if you perform at a level that will attract MLB level attention. That means you have to consistently get on the mound and be successful against DI level hitters.

What I mean is, every baseball player at some point in his life becomes exposed. You get up there, they see what you are and you find out where you are in the pecking order. Sometimes it is a disappointment. But that is only because you don’t prepare yourself for it. Later, you see it for what it was and doesn’t bother you.