Transfer Rules

I have a tricky scenario here I was wondering if anyone could help me out:

In the fall of 2008 I was a freshman and played the fall season at a Division 1 four year school. After the fall season the coach decided to use a redshirt on me. I had other plans and wanted to pitch that season so transferred to a D2 school and saw plenty of action in the spring. In the fall of 2009 I returned to the D2 school and played the fall season. After the fall season I became ill and had to use a medical redshirt for this spring 2010 season. I am currently not enrolled for this semester.

During my time away I have had a lot of time to workout, train to get bigger and better myself as a pitcher. I have also had alot of time to
think about how I want to go about my future and achieve my baseball goals and dreams. I feel moving on to a different university would be the best course of action for me. I know if moved to a juco I would immediately be eligible, but if I were to move to another D1 school would I be able to play immediately in the fall of 2010? What about another D2, or 3?
Thanks guys

[quote=“hardworkbeatstalent2”] I know if moved to a juco I would immediately be eligible, but if I were to move to another D1 school would I be able to play immediately in the fall of 2010? What about another D2, or 3?
Thanks guys[/quote]

In a word no.

Basically your 5 year clock has already started ticking (meaning in college you get 5 years to play 4). You played a year (that’s 1) then got a redshirt (that’s 2), now the question is where to go.

If you go JUCO yes you could play right away, but since you’ve already been enrolled at a 4 year university for 2 years I don’t think that you could do that at this point… you’d have to check with the compliance officer about that.