Total noob at pitching, 22 yr old

The distance to the fence from sidewalk is approx. 50-55ft. I had to throw over the trampoline so maybe it mentally slowed me down, and I also had flip flops on :smiley:

I played a few baseball games with 3 of my friends in a baseball park when I was in middle school, that’s about it for my experience with baseball, but I’m generally good at throwing things.

After watching many pitching videos on youtube I realize my “step” is horrible, so what else is wrong with my pitching?

I think my pitching speed is OK, but looks like I have bad accuracy in the 2nd vid, it flew over the fence, will that be improved with more pitching experience or is it because of bad technique?

Thank you.

Good morning, “total noob”—NOT.
I can give you a few suggestions that may help in the beginning, and for the rest I would say you should find a good pitching coach who will work with you and teach you some of the things you need to know. The first thing—you obviously need to work on control, and here’s a drill—actually more than a drill, it’s a good workout and a lot of fun besides. This is something I used to do when I was a little snip, twelve years old or so, and I continued to do it from time to time through the years when I was pitching. First, get a good catcher. Then, if you can work off a mound, do it, or if not, mark off a pitcher’s rubber and a home plate 60’6’'apart. It’s a little game called “ball and strike”, and the purpose of this is to sharpen up one’s control. The catcher positions his mitt in various spots, high, low, inside, outside, wherever, and what you have to do is get the ball into the pocket of the mitt—believe me, there are few more satisfying things than the “thwack” of the ball as it goes smack dab into the pocket of the mitt. I remember how we used to go at it for an hour at a time!