Tony Pluta Pitching Analysis 16YO RHP

Hello! My name is Tony Pluta, I’m a sophomore at St. Viator HS in Illinois, and I’m including a video that has three pitches each from front, side and in-game (these were taken in January). My FB is 85, my change is upper 70s, my CB is 70. My concern is whether I am sinking into my back leg enough and getting enough drive out of that back leg, but really I’d love to hear any feedback.

“Tony”

“ My concern is whether I am sinking into my back leg enough and getting enough drive out of that back leg, but really I’d love to hear any feedback.”

Your concern is driven by “old school” novice opinion that does not match up to what is really Happening Kinesiologically, not your fault!

No forwards power starts until Humerus is fully outwardly rotated. All contractions before this are lengthening contractions. All contractions after this are shortening contractions and only these contribute to Velocity. This means there is no saved forwards momentum dropping in!

You have 2 Kinetic chains to accomplish. The first Kinetic chain allows you to lengthen the muscles used in the second Kinetic chain.

The second Kinetic chain that shortens the drive muscles starts as soon as the first one ends. This is when the Humerus is fully outwardly rotated and it ends long after the benchmark glove foot plants.

All mechanics when you drop in should be performed as smoothly and on time as possible to achieve proper sinuous arrivals. This is best done with nominal effort! When full length in all body segments is concluded then maximal effort can be applied to garner the best results in targeting and power.

We work best when applying the mechanics that we are built with and use most as bipedal animals.