To fix or not

I am a high school coach and one of our jv pitcher has a funky delivery (arm back behind him) to say the least. My question is should I try to fix it this offseason.

I have two comments…

First, I would not try to fix the throwing arm. Instead, I would make sure his glove arm gets to a good “equal & opposite” position relative to his throwing arm. So, if he wraps his throwing arm around behind him towards 1B, make sure his glove arm reaches the same amount towards 3B.

Second, if this pitcher is maybe thin/lanky with a lot of flexibility, then he may lack the strength to match that flexibility and stabilize his joints (especially the shoulder joint). If this is the case, I’d consider closely monitoring his work load and his health and possibly limiting his work load as appropriate.

Bmw2234,

“I am a high school coach and one of our jv pitcher has a funky delivery (arm back behind him) to say the least.”

This is known as “Hyper horizontal abduction of the Humerus”. It is a gateway pathomechanical position to attain for the shoulder. It leads to Labrum tears, shoulder capsule laxity, proximal Bicep’s tendonitis, Brachialis tears, Intuitive supinated pitch drives.

Notice while the Humerus is outwardly rotated 90 degrees already (good, but not good enough) (and does he attain this position during adrenalin assisted competitions?), the forearm is still pronated at the back This ensures intuitive supinated drives and forearm flyout (the elbow degrader).

The tenet to follow is: Keep your Humerus in line with the Acromial line (the imaginary line running from shoulder tip (acromion) to shoulder tip) during pendulum swing , during Humeral/forearm arrival, during drive and very importantly to recover the arm. This means the pelvis must rotate a full 180 degrees if you want the shoulders to also.