Tim Lincecum

I studied and analyzed Tim’s mechanics. He does it all in one motion. He uses his body more than his arm. Is this why hes throwing high 90’s??? I might change the way I pitch after watching a video on him, and watching Ubaldo Jimenez during the World Baseball Classic. I’m going to test things out, like maybe putting my glove higher, sling my arm, and using my body.

Do you guys thinks my velocity will increase?[/img]

There has been a lot of people talking about changing their mechanics to what he does, and people that have changed. Most of the experienced pitching coaches on here recomend that you don’t try to copy him due to injury risk.

Oh, and he tilts his head back which would cause any normal person to have an extremely hard time staying balanced and on target.

He is a super conditioned freak…I would not try copying him unless you have superior genetics, are super strong “in the right way”, and very flexible.

well i do stretch everyday nearly almost every other hour. I do workout, but I also keep flexible.

I think it would make more sense to take some of the principles of his mechanics - loose arm, late and aggressive hip rotation, things like that and incorporate them into your own mechanics, but the key here is that they need to be your own mechanics.

He’s tremendously successful because he took different components from a lot of old hall of famers and made them his own, he didn’t try to copy one particular guy.

Good luck with that.

[quote=“blake41524”]I think it would make more sense to take some of the principles of his mechanics - loose arm, late and aggressive hip rotation, things like that and incorporate them into your own mechanics, but the key here is that they need to be your own mechanics.

He’s tremendously successful because he took different components from a lot of old hall of famers and made them his own, he didn’t try to copy one particular guy.[/quote]

Good post.