The Comeback workout

Hey,

I’ve recently had the urge to make a pitching comeback and try and walk onto my University team (up in Canada), now I haven’t pitched in a game of any sorts in 4 years, but 4 years ago I had pretty good stuff with 2 pitches (fastball and change), was part of the city and provincial All-star teams etc. Anyways back in the day I relied on pure athleticism and skill, but I know now that in order to even have a chance at making the roster I’ll need to work out.

I’ve read through some of the threads here and obtained a little understanding of the workout sessions that are beneficial for pitchers but I was wondering if someone could reccomend a 3-4 month program? I’ve been jogging for 6 months now, and been throwing at a barn (lol yes a barn with a strikezone painted on it) 60 pitches a day, every day (which now I think might not be a good idea but so far I’ve had no discomfort, just a bit of soreness, but it’s that kind of good pain).

Thanks in advance

Well, a lot of my recommendation is dependent on what type of shape you are in at at the moment. It would be ineffective to give an advanced style training regimen to someone who is relatively new to strength training (and vice versa).

I’ll throw out a couple options and you can see where you fall (and to anyone else out there looking for a training program). There are many ways to classify strength, but for the sake of simplicity we’ll narrow it down. If you can’t benchpress 75% of your bodyweight, deadlift your bodyweight, and squat your bodyweight, then you are a beginner in the world of strength training. In this case, you really don’t need fancy routines and a room filled with machines, you can use bodyweight and still see amazing gains. After you build up a good foundation, or base, of fitness and strength then you can move on to a more agressive program. This could take months or weeks, based on how dedicated you remain to the program and how your body reacts to the new stimulus.