Teaching and learning the change-up

My son and I started working on throwing a change up today. I showed him the circle change grip and told him to throw with his regular motion and speed but hold the ball loosely and let the ball slip from his fingers as he comes through.

It really didn’t go very well. It seemed as though he either held the ball too tightly which resulted in a pitch with velocity just about like his regular fastball or the ball slipped from his hand too soon and went very high and wide to my left. What should we be doing different?

BTW, his knee lift and stride is much improved.

Thanks,
Doublebag

If I’m not mistaken, your son is ten (10) years old. So, I’m going to assume that his hand, shoulders, and other physical features are typical for a ten (10) year.

First off, I’ve had no experience with youngsters that age, but using deductive reasoning, and a lot of assumptions - I’m going to make some observations — then suggestions.

The change-up/off-speed pitch requires a reasonable amount of strength and hand dexterity to accomplish. I say this from a coaching standpoint of dealing primarily with adults - but with some characteristics that may apply to your ten (10) year old.

The palm of the hand, especially where the fingers join the palm, or better known as the calluses portion of the hand, has to have enough, deliberate - action/strength, to contribute to the pitch more than any other part of the arm’s pitching motion. Hence, the release is deliberate but … blunt. No small order for a ten (10) year old. Heck, I’ve had guys who’ll cruise at 90-94 all day, but’ll struggle like crazy not to put the same “pop” in their off-speed.

For those pitchers that I’ve had problems with on their off-speed, I’ve had to take something away … something that would cancel out the “pop”. After all - an off-speed is suppose to be just that … off-speed.

Try this grip —