Taking the summer off...good or bad?

I am really considering taking the summer off of baseball and dedicating it to working out and getting slimmed down, quicker, and stronger.

If I do take the summer off from a team, I will be getting a pitching coach for the summer to keep me on target.

I have already committed to Green River Community College, so does it matter if I play summer ball?

For people in college mainly, but to anyone…Is taking the summer off of baseball…team wise…but still having a pitching coach a bad thing?

Although i have no experience with this because i have yet to take a summer off, i always look at it this way (from friends examples) Pitchers have a harder time taking a summer off than position players. Velocity drops and control varies. Although this may not be the case for everyone this is jus what i have seen myself. Also, velocity is not something that is too hard to regain, you jus wanna be 100% for your fall ball

anyone? Id really love some advice here.

Players that have great success in their baseball experience have kept a steady tempo with the game. Spring ball, summer baseball and fall baseball. But, they’ve always done so for a improvement, not just marking time with their friends. Some guys have played ball close to home, while others have traveled and still others have joined clubs in other towns and took up room and board in a sponsor’s home. And I’m not talking semi pro either.

If you have a definite reason to TRAIN, then train. If on the other hand your thinking of missing the greatest opportunity to learn the skills of this sport by doing something else…you and only you must weight the gains Vs the loss.

I’ve trained pitchers during the summer and the training schedule was no walk in the park. In fact, after two weeks, some guys wished that they stayed with summer ball… it was a lot easier. So, why did some]players chose to train full time with me as appose to playing ball? LEARNING…LEARNING…LEARNING…