Struggling with Velocity

I am a 14 year old freshman and am 5’6". I struggle with velocity and want to know some drills and new mechanics that could help my velocity. I average a 59 mph fastball, 56 mph changeup and 55 mph curve. My curve had very good break and I will post a video later.

Using J-Bands (every day is key) and long tossing 5+ days a week helped me go from 60 to 70+ this offseason. Definitely would recommend the Jaeger throwing program, I know some people don’t like it, but it definitely helped me out. It’s not even a lot of work either, just throwing for about 20 minutes a day and 10 or so to do the bands. Also “jobes” exercises help strengthen the arm, look those up on YouTube, plenty of good videos out there. Use a 2.5 plate or dumbbell. As for mechanics, I have no idea what yours look like so I can’t be of any help there. Good luck.

I am an 14 year old freshman and am 5’2". My fastball is 73.3 mph and my knuckle curve ball is 41mph and It drops really good. I use j-band, weighted balls, and I swim every day and run three laps around my neighborhood. I hope you get better

At 14 years of age and at 5’6", physically there’s a reason for your velocity rating. I would assume that you’re about 120 pounds, max, and that you’re physique is slim - not husky or muscular.

It’s my opinion that you still have growing and maturing to do, physically. Give yourself another … say one or two years and you’ll be progressing to where your body can enhance your velocity.