Strasburg

Joe White of the Associated Press did a nice job of briefly summarizing the
Strasburg thing with the Washington Nationals.

As a pitching coach, I honestly believe the Nationals did a gutsy thing with this young man, and for all the right reasons. Reasons that does Strasburg and his club justice, now and in the future.

As a pitching coach, my concerns has always been for the health and wellbeing of my charges. Sure, wins and losses are important, but not as important as keeping a pitching staff up, ready and healthy for the demands of a busy season and a post season. In fact, any Skipper (Head Coach) will tell you just how important those qualities are when formulating a game plan.

Professional pitchers experience a host of variables that can go under the radar of many fan’s and the sport’s writers. Those experiences can include an aggravating tenure through the Minor Leagues that involves an endless stream of road trips with food and accommodations that’ll test a man’s tolerance and endurance, a daily demand on the body that the mind has to overcome, and a mindset that has to get used to being a commodity – sellable at any time. Then there’s no place to really call home, little if any stability with everything and anything the rest of humanity calls normal. Hence, it’s no wonder the numbers are against any man who wants to call this life a profession.

And if all that wasn’t enough to discourage a man from earning a living playing professional baseball, think about the sacrifices made even before joining the professional ranks. Think of the childhood that isn’t - the training time that subordinates everyday family and social events, the hit-n-miss of amateur coaching, and the countless disappointments finding the right time and place to be noticed. Money wise, all of this doesn’t come cheap either.