Sports Psychology

Hey guys, it’s been a while since I’ve posted on the boards. As I get ready to send in my paperwork for a hopeful transfer to the University of Wyoming I have started thinking.

How do you get into the field of sport psychology? I’m currently majoring in psychology but I’ve been skeptical about whether or not to continue with it, I enjoy psychology but I don’t know if it’s something I want to go to school for for 10-12 years, but I don’t know what else I would really like to go into that I could do anything in (I love philosophy but not much to do with it).

I’d imagine you need a Psy.D or a Ph.D in psychology to start with but are there classes to specialize in sport psychology? What kind of jobs are available in this field? Do teams hire team therapists or psychoanalysts as staff or just in certain situations?

Do major league sports teams hire psychologists or do minor league and indy teams hire them too? What is the job description for a sport psychologist?

Is it therapy, analysis or something else? What mode of psychology is used? Cognitive, psychodynamic, biological or something more out of the ordinary like humanistic?

Are there companies that hire psychologists to go out and work for teams or are these psychologists mostly independent?

I know these are a lot of questions but I’ve been thinking about this a lot and been having a tough time finding out about this kind of thing. For any of the more experienced members, I’d appreciate the help.

Welcome back, O Master of the Knuckleball!
Yes, there are colleges and universities that offer degrees in sports psychology. And no, you don’t need a Ph.D.—a Master’s will do very well. You should do some investigating into the matter, find out which colleges offer such a degree, talk to the department heads and take it from there.