Sophomore rough year

Just gonna let it all out here. haha. i’m a sophomore with a strong senior class at my school. there’s no room on varsity although i’ve been told i could be pulled up maybe mid season if i perform well. couple problems, this is my second year on jv, i love baseball. its about as close to an obsession as you can get, but the second year at this level is making me question my ability and things such as that. i pitched three innings today against probably the best jv team in the state other than ours and struck out nine in three innings. completely dominated. the only problem is that its not much of an accomplishment because its just jv baseball in vermont. any thoughts on how i could increase my motivation and confidence? might be a stupid question. its just a frustrating experience because i can’t improve. i can’t pitch to contact because my fielding is at best erratic. only 3 or 4 kids on the team actually care heavily about baseball. so here i am trying to strike everybody out, throwing a ton of pitches, and not improving due to competition and my team support. any thoughts? thanks. don’t want to seem like a whiner. just spouting off a little i guess. frustrating experience :slight_smile:

Sometimes I’m just not sure if what I’m about to say will hit the bullseye or not. But here goes…

I read your post and immediately thought of myself. My dad, who worked at the mill from 7 -3 , ate dinner at 4:30 every day on the nose and whose prized possession was his Gibson guitar would before going to bed check on both his sons and say something like, “Dino what’s on that mind of yours tonight?” That usually illicited a complaint about life’s unfair treatment and predjudices. To which he responded more often than I can count, “You got to pay your dues.”

Over time I learned that his response was not merely meant to say “quit your whining.” It was meant to say something like this…