Sophmore in High School Throwing Mid 70's

Hello, im a sophomore in high school ( 5’10 150) I was wondering if it is too late for me to get my velocity up in time to impress college scouts,

The season is coming to a close and i just wanted to know what i have to do over the season to reach my goal of at least low 80’s to mid 80’s.

Mechanics are above average

I have been looking into using weighted balls over this summer but not sure what types of drills to do on those, please if you can help in any way feel free to comment, Criticism wanted

You are pretty small for your size. Adding 30 lbs of good muscle along with strength will do you a lot of good. This cannot be done in one summer though, it will have to be done throughout your high school career.

Hate to be the one to break it to ya, but if your throwing mid 70’s, your mechanics probably aren’t “above average”.

you’re pretty small, which means you’re going to have to work twice as hard. I’m sure there are some mechanical tweaks to be made. I also think you need to throw more often. I’ve come to see 90+ as exceptional and out of this world for sophmores. 85+ is solid, may be 90 at the end of a hs career. 80+ is decent. 75-78 is average, so I would say you’re below average velocity wise at this point. Don’t use your size as an excuse. Put the work in

not going to bust you chops about size, mechanics b/c I have not seen you personally. Lots of variables with respect to how you project size wise, continued growth. Lots of valuable info here and places like Eric Cressey. Do your homework, have a plan and put it in place and see what happens

My son is 5’11 & 158lbs LHP soph. and will have to continue to work even harder. He’s touching 80 with consistant FBs 77-79 and 2 other pitches to go along with it and solid location. Having just turned 16 a couple months ago he’s got upside but has to stick to a plan both physically and with his class work.