Son with wacky windup

Hi-

I am the head coach of my son’s Babe Ruth Minors team this year. My son played up last year (7 going on 8) and I was an assistant coach but did not work with the pitchers. My son has asked to pitch and I’ve let him throw to me a bit to see what we have. His windup is a doozy–he looks like Paul Byrd of the Indians except that he faces 3rd base when he swings his arms and has his hands together at his belt buckle. In his windup he doesn’t bend his front leg, but rather swings it stiffly away from his body. However, his follow through looks good–he does bend his leg when he strides and he can throw the 2 seamer for strikes. When I have him pitch from the stretch he says it hurts his arm and that pitching his way he can come over the top better.
Oh, and he probably balks 3 times per pitch b/c his windup is so convoluted. I think maybe he has long arms and that could explain things.
So, do I let this kid pitch an inning or two per week? He doesn’t overthrow; he’s more of a control type.

Welcome to the forums!

By all means, let him have fun and pitch a little. But with his straight leg knee lift, watch his posture to make sure he doesn’t lean back during the knee lift. Also, there is no reason he should be concerned with or trying to throw “over the top”. Sounds like some coach fed him some conventional wisdom.

Thanks for the encouragement. I think he may be leaning slightly. When I watch him up close from the side I don’t see it but when I’m catching and thus looking at him from the front from 40 odd feet I think I see a bit of a lean.
Throwing over the top is just the natural outcome of his delivery (not the result of a coach’s input). In the past he has typically thrown (not pitched) 3/4. I’ve pitched to him a great deal and I throw more over the top so maybe he’s picked it up from me.