Slow fastball

i know many people have been talking about how control is everything, but is this true in the high school level? Also, i’m a sophomore right now, 15 years old, kinda undersized (5’10) and i’m only throwing mid-70’s. I’m slightly concerned because i’ve read alot of kids my age with about ten mph faster elsewhere. Should i be concerned with my speed at this level? I’m doing a fitness program (strength and core workouts) once to twice a week, but i’m starting to wonder: am i ever going to catch up to the heat?

Pitching isn’t just velocity or command, but rather, combines with ball movement to produce whatever success a pitcher has. What final level a pitcher desires to reach, and how he defines his personal success depends on the skill level of each. With that understood, here’s some things to think about.

1st of all, what level are you talking about, Varsity or JV?

Looking at just numbers of innings pitched, where do you think you rank when compared to your peer pitchers? IOW, do you believe you’re getting a good opportunity to demonstrate your ability to get batters out?

When you do pitch, how do you view your success/failure, and how do you feel the guy making the decisions views your success/failure?

Do your numbers show you’re getting pounded around and wild, or do they show something else?

How do you feel you perform against strong, average, and weak competition? IOW, can you only regularly get out weak competition?