Size a factor?

Ok well im a freshman (14 y.o). Im 5ft4 90 pds. Im wondering if my size is a factor. Say when i grow a few inches like 2 or something how many mph would i add?

Hey, not so fast! You say you’re 5’4" and are 14 years old. My guess is that you haven’t yet hit a growth spurt; unless you’re destined to be a shrimp, you will probably hit one or more. Don’t worry about your speed right now; as you get taller you will very likely pick up some MPH on your fast ball. Work on your control and other aspects of good mechanics, maybe pick up a breaking pitch or two, and concentrate on getting batters out with the stuff you have.

I’m 5’4" at the age of 12. I throw pretty hard. When I was a little shrimp(like 2 years ago) I couldn’t throw hard for anything.

Coincidence? Maybe.

Size only really becomes a factor when you get to the pro level.

As a general rule, the bigger you are (height and weight) the harder you will throw the baseball. Of course, you want to be in good athletic shape at whatever height and weight you are. However, there are always exceptions to the rule.

Think of smaller guys like Roy Oswalt and Tim Lincecum who are both barely 6 ft tall and both throw in the mid 90’s. Don’t let your size now discourage you from trying to develop the absolute most explosive delivery possible. There many many ways to develop velocity besides just being tall and long.

Also, other posts are correct…you may still have quite a growth spurt left in you and may end up filling out later in the your HS career or even college. Most scouts don’t think you’ve reached your full velocity potential until your junior or senior you of COLLEGE.

Just keep studying your favorite small pitcher’s mechanics and work on being explosive to the plate.