Sidearm mechanics review

Hey guys, im a sidearm rightie (webcam shows me leftie but im not) im in my freshman year of college ball and need some mechanical advice, what all do you see wrong? ( i know theres a few ) right now im around 78-80 but my goal is 85 im hoping my mechanics will have some help with this, here is just a quick view of me doing towel work… thanks for the help!

[/wmp]

You actually look more submarine than sidearm to me. Either way, I have no experience working with someone with your arm slot so take this with a grain of salt.

Your front foot kicking backwards seems odd and possibly inefficient. You also seem to open up the front leg/foot and hips early. I’m thinking you want to stay closed off longer.

Is the towel drill effective at all with sidearm and submarine pitchers at all, like to hear Zita’s perspective on this.

Hi, buwhite.
In answer to your question, I have had no experience with the towel drill at all—this was way after my time. I always worked with a real live catcher and my pitching coach—on flat ground when I was learning a new pitch, then from the mound. Being a true sidearmer, I never experienced any problems with the windup, the delivery, the release point or anything else, and if any adjustment needed to be made, say with my follow-through, my coach would show me a thing or two I could do. I would think that the towel drill or anything of that nature would work best with the overhand or 3/4 delivery; the sidearm motion has a lot of that stuff built in. :slight_smile:

Zita, I know you talk about the crossfire action, does that take much away from velo? ive been anywere from a true knuckle dragger to just now getting comfortable with this slot, im trying to keep as much velo while keeping all my movement if not adding movement. any tips on velo(based on flaws in delivery) and then how to add more movement?