Sidearm Mechanics Analysis

Hey guys, I’m a sophomore in college and just looking for some help with my mechanics. I know this video is not the best camera work, so i’ll try to get another one up with more angles asap. Thanks

I do not think it would be responsible to make many suggestions without seeing you at game speed and get more background from you before making any recommendations.

What does your coaching staff have to say about your mechanics? Is there any kind of injury you are rehabbing from? Do you have any concerns? What kind of velocity do you have currently?

With that said, I will say that I’m not crazy about your arm action from what I can see in this clip. You have very little forearm layback so it makes your throwing arm look very stiff and not “whippy”. You have little scapular loading.

But some or all of this may change when/if you are at full speed.

I agree with 101. It also looks like your leg kick height and body speed are a little inconsistent pitch to pitch, too. And you could probably come “set” a little taller, not sitting back so much.

What issues have you been working on?

First of all, thanks for the quick response. The only mechanical component that my coaches really stress is tempo, and speeding up the delivery. Typically, though, as long as you get the ball to the plate in 1.4 sec. or quicker, you’re good.

No injuries to speak of other than a few nagging injuries but nothing requiring significant rehab.

My only real concern is that in the 3+ years I’ve been pitching sidearm, I’ve never really been able to break down my mechanics. Past pitching coaches helped me with the basics of dropping down, but I don’t think I’ve ever broken down my mechanics systematically other than the absolute fundamentals (which admittedly, I may have become a little too comfortable with these fundamentals).