Sidearm changeup

I throw sidearm, and i have a really good slider, but my changeup struggles and is the biggest thing holding me back. What grip would you suggest for this arm slot?

How do you grip your change? I’m a LHP but have recently started dropping my arm angle a bit to try something new. I’ve been throwing a circle change for about 8 yrs which has become one of my best pitches. When throwing sidearm I kept the grip the exact same and it has been working great. The sidearm angles makes it run in towards lefties alot but it still gets some good sink too.

Sparkman, the change up is one of those pitchers which can be absolutely aggravating. It requires tons of feel and confidence. It takes alot of time simply messing around with grips, which exactly what you have too do. Don’t be afraid to try new grips and see which pitches give you the best combination of movement and command and the necessary velocity difference. My personal opinion is too start with the circle-change grip or the three finger change-up and go from there. Personally I found my change-up by simply playing catch with a buddy, I was messing around and stumbled on my grip.

That’s exactly how Mariano Rivera discovered his cutter—just messing around, playing catch one day with Ramiro Mendoza, and suddenly the pitch was there. Very often that’s how one stumbles onto a pitch that quickly becomes a staple in the repertoire.