Shoulder Problems

Hi guys, I have a quick question pertaining shoulder problems. I’m a rising sophomore in college and have only been pitching since mid-Feb. I got to school and with only 7 healthy pitchers (5 injured) and 46 games to play, they needed a few more guys and at 6’3", 220 and a good arm from 3rd, they gave me a shot. I transitioned somewhat well, though I had only pitched once before in my life (my freshman year in HS). I started off throwing an 82-83 MPH fastball, the worst curve I’ve ever seen, and a circle-change that did nothing and sat at about 81. Fast-forward to the end of April. I had developed a fastball that sat around 87, topping at 89, a solid two-seemer with a lot of down (almost a sinker) at 84, a “hammer curve”, and a split-change that was in the high-70s. I had also developed a case of shoulder tendonitis, which hasn’t gone away. The weird thing is that it tends to be very tight and somewhat painful when I first start throwing, but as I loosen up and start throwing in the bullpen it goes away. The day after I throw it hurts like hell.

I’ve been doing some shoulder exercises (3 lb. weights, front raises, 45 degree raises, thumb-down, and lateral raises) and using the TheraBands for internal and external rotations. It feels fine for internal but hurts for external. Our workout program also has us doing dumbbell chest presses, and I can feel a little twinge when doing that. Our trainer says it’s because I’ve never pitched before and I’ve gained close to 6 MPH on my fastball, and that as long as I continue to take care of my shoulder, it will eventually be fine. But it’s been over a month and it’s still bothering me - I’m worried I’m not doing the right things to help it heal, or that there’s a more serious injury behind it.

Sorry for the novel, but I’d appreciate any insight or suggestions. Thanks a lot.