Shoulder injury - frame by frame of Nolan

Sorry, blurry but the best I’ve got.

I was going to say that his PAS elbow is a little high, but not too bad.

What concerns me the most is how he takes his PAS hand behind his back after breaking his hands.

[quote=“Chris O’Leary”]What concerns me the most is how he takes his PAS hand behind his back after breaking his hands.[/quote]My eyes must be deceiving me because I don’t see that at all.

It seems like he’s not throwing the ball with both feet on the ground. That might suggest that he’s throwing all arm which I’m sure would hurt his shoulder…I could be wrong I’m really not an expert on this at all, but my coach has been trying to get me to throw with both feet on the ground to use my full body…just a thought

Good catch. Most of the top pitchers drag the back foot and it doesn’t lift off the ground until ball release or thereafter. Lifting the back foot early often indicates the head and shoulders are getting too far out front. But that doesn’t look like the case with this pitcher. Still, I agree something seems fishy here.

The only thing i could think of is not streching before pitching and not getting the core fired. Or that he is not in baseball shape so it puts stress on the shoulder and arm.

My humble opinion is a slight bull whipping arm action in his technique. A combination of upright torso, both knees close together at release and soreness and/or pain in the back side shoulder are telltale signs.

The frame below is the one I’m mostly talking about. Notice how his elbow is both above and behind his shoulders. It’s not as high as Mark Prior’s but it’s higher than Greg Maddux’s.

His PAS elbow is still quite high in the frame below. If you look at a photo of Greg Maddux at the same point, his elbow will be a couple of inches lower. I think that is a significant difference, and could be related to the impingement. Jonathan Papelbon is having shoulder problems, I think for a similar reason.