Should side-arm be corrected

Need to get some thoughts on this.

I have a kid (will be 10 next Spring) that I coached a year ago who I hope will be back playing for me. He took last year off to play soccer. This past weekend I had a chance to see what his arm was like and did a quick pitching session with him. I wanted to get a sense of his mechanics, accuracy and speed.

The good news was that his accuracy and speed were good. And for someone self taught, his mechanics were quite sound. The bad news was that he throws side-arm.

He’s a gifted athlete and excels at any sport he tries. I’m hoping he’ll come back to baseball, so I don’t want to correct everything he does and kill his enthusiasm, but I also don’t want to allow something that could cause long term arm trouble. On the other hand, baseball isn’t big here where we live, so it’s not like he has visions of playing high school or college ball.

What would you suggest I do?

Regards,
Vlad

Why exactly do you think it should be changed?

Sidearm is bad news? Well, that’s unfortunate for me.

try moving it up but be extremely careful. Make sure he tilts his shoulders. First sign of pain have him stop. I made the switch when I was about 10 (natural sidearmer) to a high 3/4 and have no arm injuries caused by switching (to my knowledge) don’t just take my word, wait for other answers and do some research.

There is nothing wrong with throwing side-arm. You just want to make sure he’s not rotating the shoulders early and that he’s not supinating his hand/wrist.

This topic is of interest to me as my son throws naturally sidearm also. I’ve done a lot of research (that’s how I found this place) on the subject and like most you’ll get a lot of opposing answers. I’ve decided to not sweat it for right now (sons 10) and let nature take it’s course. Seems like there’s time to correct it before ball gets serious, plus the only time he’s complained about his arm hurting is when I made him go more overhand.