Short pitchers

If your a short pitcher have you ever wished you were taller? I know there are many successful short pitchers that throw hard, but it is clear that height is an advantage. Me, I’m a sophomore pitcher that is slightly over 5’7’’. the other pitchers on the team are around 5’10’’-5’11’’. With the exeption of the ace, I throw as hard as the others, and am overall as good as the third starter (we use 3). I just don’t look like a pitcher (when I think of a pitcher I think of a tall, lanky kid with long arms). I have only gotten one chance to pitch this year and threw 4 innings with 5 k’s and gave up 0 earned runs. If only I was taller.

i know how you feel…but unlike you…i dont throw as hard as the taller guys on the team, but instead i’ve grown acustom to throwing a lot of junks…everything from slider, curve and splitter, while trying to put my fastballs at good locations low in the strike zone.
im not sure if its a mis-conception by me, or do most of the hard throwing smaller pitchers in the majors (pedro, oswalt, wagner) all tend to break their back knee early and really try to drive the body forward by pushing off the rubber, rather than standing tall pressing down.

Not only does being short make it harder to throw fast, it also makes it harder to throw junk. It helps to have big hands, which I don’t have.

yea i like being tall im 13 and almost 6’ and have a 6’5 wingspand really skinny but already throwing low 70’s it helps me a lot

I also wish I was taller. I am only 5’5 and I throw in the low to mid 70’s.I wish I was like 5’10 or 5’11. To me that is the perfect size.

Being taller obviously would help as a pitcher, but do you know what, don’t let that even be an issue in your improvement.

There are lots of guys who have pitched in the big leagues and had success that are under six foot tall.

Pedro Martinez
Bartolo Colon
Greg Maddux
Roy Oswalt
Billy Wagner