Seeking Off Season Advice

RHP, 15yoa, 6’6", FB 77, will be going into my sophmore year.

Anyone have some advice for off season work? I’d like to pitch in college.

Im a freshman and im 5’6" 136 lbs. Size don’t matter but, if you have a local gym or ymca go there with a friend or someone and just play catch. Work on grips too. You dont wanna forget how to throw your pitches. Thats what cost me my spot on my towns league because i goofed off in the off-season and forgot how to throw a curveball.

Lots of things can help, but you’re not very specific, how much do you weight at 6’6"?
Diet is very important, most kids at this age need muscle mass/strength, and conditioning.
Did you pitch last year? How much? Most arms need an “active rest” (6 weeks if possible) period so that the muscles can heal and grow. We’ve used martial arts for stretching and concentration enhancement…(And just havin fun). Work with a mirror and slo-mo to visualize and perfect mechanics.
Many colleges put on end-of-year clinics attempting to look at talent coming up, so they can get scouting opportunities more focused.
Rent or borrow or buy all the stuff you can on pitching and study the art. (MLB stuff is great and a whole world of other stuff).
I guess to sum up my advice, don’t put yourself in a box, look for a variety of ways in which to build ALL of your baseball skills, remember the lesson of Maddox… He studies every hitter in the league, thus he sacrifices his time in a profitable way.

jd

I’m about 180. I pitched for three different teams (High School, Legion and Senior League)from April thru September. I threw probably about three thousand in game pitches. I went to a DII showcase and got some good feedback. My high school has a winter indoor facility with two portable mounds.

Do you recommend protein drinks? How do I put on weight?

Thanks