Second Base On A Walk


#1

Not really a rule question but I was wondering, if the batter-runner takes second base on a walk is that ruled a steal? What if there was a passed ball on the walk?

I’m curious because I did this twice this year and I don’t know if I count those as steals or not.


#2

As I understand it (this happened last year with Scutaro) that if you draw a walk and continue on to second it is a stolen base because when you touch first technically it’s a new at bat so it’s like leaving early.

On a pass ball, however, it goes down as an error or wildpitch depending on the situation.


#3

If there is a walk as you are stealing, no steal.

If there is a pass ball either by wild pitch or pass ball on catcher either way its and error and therefore isn’t a steal in the book.