Screwball

I am a freshman at my high school in North Carolina. I know the obvious risks of throwing the screwball, but i have a question about it. I have been throwing around 60 or so of these a week for the last three months, and i haven’t felt any real arm or elbow pain. So, if a pitch is destroying my arm, would it be noticeable over time, or take effect one day. I have not been clocked recently, but this pitch breaks from 1 to 5 inches depending on the pressure i use. Am i okay to throw this in moderation, or am I taking a risk.

The idea that the screwball will destroy your arm is a myth.

While some people who have thrown the screwball have had arm problems, others like Mike Marshall haven’t. What is likely going on is that the screwball is being scapegoated; that it’s being blamed for causing problems that were actually caused by something else (e.g. curveballs).

A screwball is actually a very safe pitch to throw.

That clears alot up, because curves have always hurt my arm more than screwballs; and i can see where people would get that idea. It would hurt if your wrist turn was incorrect, but it has never had ill effects on me.
Thank you for clearing that up.s

Screwball is thrown twisting the wrist inward right??

Yes which is an unnatural direction for the wrist to be going. I guess that it varies from person to person. Sure, Mike Marshall never had any problems, but he’s a league above all the rest so he may be more conditioned to withstand the strains of that pitch. It’s usually high recommended that pitchers at the high school level do not throw irregular pitches such as the sinker or screwball. But if you’re having no problems, then keep going along until it starts hurting and stop for a while.

Have you ever poured out a half-empty can of soda? Have you ever turned a door knob? If so, then you’ve pronated your forearm.

Pronating the forearm is hardly unnatural.