Road to Recovery and Beyond

I’ve been reading some of these journals for a little while now and thought that maybe writing one myself will help to keep me motivated and get myself to where I want to be. My name is Mat, I’m a sophomore (redshirt freshman) left handed pitcher at Barry University, a division II school in Miami, Florida. I am 6’3" and 200 lbs. We have a very strong team here so it will take a ton of work for me to just get playing time this year or next year, but I am willing to do whatever it takes. I had surgery last year to fix a SLAP tear and have been trying to recover from that ever since. I have done all the rehab but this past fall had more shoulder trouble. Three weeks ago I received a cortisone shot, and started throwing again yesterday. I kept it light, arm felt pretty good, very sore now but I heard that that’s normal.

Today was my first day lifting in a few months, I’ve been slacking off a bit in that part of my game. Right now, I am doing Eric Cressey’s Regular Guy Strength Program, until my pitching coach gets something written up for us. He is very good with this stuff, probably the best coach I have ever had.

I feel like this is english class, I have no idea what I should be writing. What I want to do is get my shoulder back to 100% before the end of this season and hopefully get some innings in. I’m also hoping to gain weight through my diet and the workout I am doing, maybe get up to 210-215 by next fall. I also want to get a 3.5 GPA this semester. But my primary goal for right now is getting shoulder back to full strength, and once that happens I will come up with new goals more specific to my pitching.

Like I said earlier, today was my first time working out in awhile, so some of the weights that I did were lower than what they probably could be and I expect to improve very quickly to start off. For today’s workout I did:
Trap Bar Deadlift 5x3 - 140, 140, 160, 170, 180 lbs (without the bar…not sure how much that weighs)