Recent Elbow Injury

To start off, I’m a 13 year old pitcher. Last season, my idiotic AAU coach pitched me a full game, 93 pitches, in cold weather, also in my first appearance of the year. This lead to me pitching the whole year with a screwed up elbow, yet I still managed to throw in the low 60’s. Then I started to realize in all-stars that something was messed up in my elbow when we made it to the New England Regional Cal Ripken tourney in Nashua, NH. Now I haven’t been on a mound since late July. And I’m also making the transition to the babe ruth field and I’ve been rehabbing my arm for the past 1-2 months.

Do you think I will have more velocity than I did before I had the elbow injury or will this injury affect my velocity and make it drop?

Just taking time off wont by itself make you throw faster, how about maturity, body strength and technique. Just because your arm/elbow hurt didn’t mean that you were throwing with less velocity last year, I would definately consider things like # of pitches, climate and situations with respect to when and how I pitch this year. You are 13, when my kids were 13 we kept their pitch limits to 100- 110 pitches per week. Their coaches had to work within those numbers and it kept them healthy.

Last year there was a noticeable decrease in velocity by 5-6 mph from the year before, it even had an impact on my hitting. I’ve started doing around a 100-120 pitch count per week as well.

Is there a doctor in there anywhere?