Quirks, Weirdness and flat out strange

I got thinking the other day about some of the weirdest things I’ve seen at a ball game, be it a game itself, a play or something just out of the ordinary.

I thought this would make for some interesting discussions.

For me I’d have to say the strangest thing I’ve witnessed on a ball field was when I was a freshman in College.

We travelled to Florida for Spring Break and in our first game we lost 2-0… and our Starter threw a no-no!!! He walked a guy who then advanced to second on a wild pitch then scored on a sac fly for the first run. The second run he got upset over an error that was made in the field, drilled the next guy up to put it to runners at first and second and then they moved up on a double steal and then an error on a bunt play brought in the second run, subsequently the next batter up got plunked and he escaped the inning without allowing anymore damage and then cruised the rest of the game and our hitters couldn’t get him a run at all.

I’ve always been curious to see how many guys that’s happened to.

What’s the strangest or weirdest thing you’ve seen or been a part of?

We had a head coach who was a gambler; I mean he lived this stuff.
He’d take these junkets to Vegas with his wife every year. He even had
a wristwatch with a face on it that had a picture of the old Sands Hotel,
and a Zippo with a royal flush engraved on it.

One night our cooler got hit by foul and spilled a lot of liquid all over the
bench. Our skipper was in the locker room using the stall and didn’t know
about the accident with the cooler, nor did he know the bench was soaked.

He came out, sat on the bench and started flipping through some stuff when
I suggested we pull our guy who was getting clobbered – the bullpen was ready
with our reliever.

So, our skipper gets up, motions to the CU –“time” and walks to the mound,
to talk to our reliever. As he’s walking onto the field, everyone noticed that the