Question about college

hey so i’m a sophomore so probably a little early to be thinking of playing college baseball. but i’ve got a question regarding the pitching side of it. when scouts for college look at a prospect do they look more for potential or for what they already have? what i’m saying is does the scout look at a guy who is a smart pitcher with less arm but more command and pitching iq or a guy who throws the ball through a wall but is less refined in his pitching. my question is between these two types of pitchers which one usually is placed higher on a scouts radar? so in high school should i be trying to get hitters out using all my pitches with location and maybe less speed? or should i be trying to show my fastball as much as possible? thanks guys

It really depends on what level of college ball you would be playing. For most D1 colleges they would hardly give you a look if you arent throwing high 80’s or 90+, endless you had some incomparable stuff. The thing is, most of the time, you can teach a kid to throw more accurate, but it isnt practical to teach a kid to throw harder.

I wouldnt worry about that as a sophmore though. Also if you are planning on playing some D3 or something, everything kinda changes.

Scouts are all going to be looking for different things, so you can’t be everything to everyone. The number one objective you should have is to win for yourself and your team. When you do this, and if you have the talent to get to the next level, things will work themselves out.

There are smaller points you can do too to get noticed like getting to some good camps, getting good grades, etc… Take some time to do a search on this forum and you can learn some more about that.

Stu

Here’s the thing about college- even high schools to some degree.

The crop of talent is not static, it changes year after year, sometimes even within the season. Injuries, sickness, Here’s the thing about college- even high schools to some degree.