Professional Strength Coach-- Ask Me Anything Thread

Condensed bio: Former collegiate pitcher/ Powerlifter/ Olympic Lifter. Have BS +MS in Human Movement/ Sports Psychology and currently working on my Doctor of Natural Medicine Degree.

Some career highlights include coaching multiple championships, going to multiple NCAA Tourneys and helping add MPH to our pitchers (topping out at 97MPH).

Specialty is injured athletes and pitchers.

Note: All info is not a diagnosis, the info is used to guide your decision making. When appropriate I will back with research in answers

Please ask questions here to keep an open conversation going.

more info: www.joshheenan.com

Welcome Josh,

Looking forward to following this thread.

Thank you! I do as well. I am not a newbie here, but my account was not working so I decided to start fresh! I look forward to helping others-- players parents and coaches as well as learning from others.

Hi Josh welcome to the boards! Here is my question.

What is your take on little leaguers elbow?

http://www.joshheenan.com/little-league-elbow-and-shoulder-presentation/

Here is a talk I gave on the problem. Not exactly sure what your looking for. Do explain.

I would like you to explain the importance of hip mobility in weight lifting, related to the squat specifically. I see guys squating and they either cant get down or they come up “crooked”…favoring one side or the other. I would assume alot of this has to do with immobility or imbalances in the hip joints.

Josh,

What lifts should pitchers specifically avoid/limit in their workout routines? I often hear bad things about overhead press, benching, dips, and tricep extensions. Recently I’ve heard/read that hang cleans place a lot of stress on the elbow too. What lifts are not good for a pitcher? And what would be a good substitute for said lift.

Thanks