Preparing for High School Baseball Advice

I am a freshman and my baseball conditioning for my high school begins in January and and tryouts are in February. I am planning to try out for pitcher and middle infield and I was wondering if anyone had any advice?

(1) Take care of your priorities first - homework, part time job, family chores, stay out of trouble and those that bring trouble to you.
(2) Habits that keep you in step with a good start on the day - plan the night before with what you’re going to wear for school the next morning, prepare the night before your school lunch if you take one, place what you’re going to take to school in a convenient place so you won’t be wasting time looking for stuff. DO YOUR HOME WORK COMPLETELY.
(3) Remember that in a few months you’ll be upping your demands on your time and compressing that time to fit into an athlete’s schedule. This means - your sleep, diet (breakfast/lunch/supper) had better support the demands on your body.
(4) Be realistic about what you bring to the field. Don’t compare yourself to others that are bigger, stronger, older than yourself. That’s just self defeating.
(5) Understand that there are players that have held down a position(s) long before you arrived. These guys are probably going to stay at those positions, and as such, they won’t be too happy about someone trying to take their job(s) on the field. Just remember - when you get to that point, you won’t appreciate the guys that are freshmen trying to take your job(s).
(6) Avoid groups that down play and gossip about others. These guys are weak with self respect, weak with integrity, and weak overall in everything that you don’t want.
(7) Rookies always find it hard to adjust, for the first few weeks, so don’t think that you’re the only one going through this phase. Just deal with it.