Post Tommy John tingling in my hand

I had tommy John on October 2012. I completed all my throwing and rehab so then I was told to shut down until about January. So came january, I started throwing again and now I’m doing bullpens. It seems that whenever I am doing bullpens and really try to throw hard, I get a tingling feeling in my ring and pinky fingers… My doctor said he moved the nerve over my lateral epicondyle so that it would not become compressed again. I don’t know what could be causing this… I also have something called snapping tricep syndrome where my tricep snaps over my bone when I bend my arm past 90 degrees. Could it be from that? What could be wrong ? Should I do longer warm ups?

I would consult with my doctor. He can give you the best explanation of what might be going on

Go consult the doctor who performed the surgery.

I am not a doctor (yet) but I’m pretty sure your ulnar nerve is compressed. This nerve is responsible for sensible innervation of your pinky and ringfinger.

I have no idea how serious this is, but I’m pretty sure it’s not fixable by just doing a better warmup. Your doctor will know

Don’t jump to the conclusion it’s a damaged ulnar nerve and that you need potential career ending surgery. My 18-year-old son had EXACTLY your symptoms 2 years post-T. John 3 weeks ago. Talked to his surgeon. Figured he was done forever. Maybe re-routing the ulnar nerve so it wouldn’t hurt in living his regular life.

Kid went to Dr. Marko Borba in Napa to do nerve testing to see the damage to the nerve. If he’d gone to most any other doctor for the nerve test…they wouldn’t have done ultrasound on the elbow and they wouldn’t have found…

The screw implanted in his elbow to hold the ulnar ligament in place 2 years ago is stick 3 mm above the bone in his elbow and the ulnar ligament rubs against the screw!

The surgeon can simply shave down the screw or totally remove it. The screw is useless. His ligament is attached fine now.