Bases loaded. 2 outs. Batter hits a home run. R2 misses third on the way by and the Batter/Runner misses 1st base on his trip around the bases. When a new ball is put in play, the defense successfully appeals the fact that R2 missed third which results in the 3rd out. Before the defense leaves the field, the first baseman takes the ball and appeals that the B/R missed first. What is the proper ruling?
- Both appeals are upheld, resulting in 4 outs, and no runs score.
- Since there can't be 4 outs, the appeal on the B/R takes priority. No runs score because the final out was made by way of a force out.
- The inning was over after the 3rd out from the appeal on R2. Only 1 run (R3) scores.