Poll: Hey, Blue! No. 011


#1

R2, no outs. Batter smashes a hard grounder that skips by the charging shortstop and deflects off the base umpire, directly to the second baseman. 2B throws to first in time to get the Batter/Runner. 1B fires across the diamond to 3B who tags out R2 who had rounded third and couldn’t get back in time. How do you sort this play?

  • No problems here. Looks good to me. The play stands.
  • This is umpire interference, the ball should be dead the moment it hits the base umpire who is positioned on the infield grass. The B/R is awarded 1st and all other runners are returned to their bases occupied at the time of the pitch.
  • This is umpire interference, the ball should be dead the moment it hits the base umpire who is positioned on the infield grass. The B/R is awarded 1st and all other runners are awarded bases based upon the umpires judgment of what would have occurred had their been no interference.

#2

The play stands. It is not interference once the ball passes an infielder other than the pitcher unless there is another infielder in position to make a legitimate play on the ball.