Poll: Hey, Blue! No. 006


#1

R2 stealing 3rd on a 3-1 pitch that bounces in front of the plate and is deflected by the catcher directly into the dugout, but crossed into dead ball territory after R2 had rounded 3rd. Where do you place the runners and why?

  • R2 gets 3rd and the batter gets 1st. A pitched ball that deflects out of play is a 1 base award from the time of the pitch.
  • R2 scores and the batter gets 2nd. In the umpire’s judgment, the runner from second would most likely have scored on the play had it not gone into a dead ball area. The runner earned 1st for the walk and got awarded second on the dead ball.
  • R2 scores and the batter gets 1st. R2 had acquired 3rd before the ball went out of play, so he is allowed to score. The batter had not yet acquired 1st so he is only awarded 1st base. A pitched ball that deflects directly out of play is only a one base award.

#2

R2 gets 3rd and the batter gets 1st. A pitched ball that deflects out of play is a 1 base award from the time of the pitch.

bases are awarded 1 base on a pitched ball, 2 bases on a fielded ball, 3 bases for touching a batted ball with detached equipment. These awards for pitched balls are made from the time of the pitch, not the time of the throw or the time it went out of play, which a lot of people think to be the case.

We have all heard the phrase “one base on the overthrow” and in no case is that phrase true. A ground ball to shortstop that is thrown over the first baseman’s head and out of play is actually a two base award from the time of the pitch. For example, if the SS kicks the ball toward the hole, runs over and picks it up before throwing wildly to first base and out of play at a time where the runner has already reached first, the runner would be awarded 3rd base and not the “one base on an overthrow” sandlot staple.


#3

Oh, I figured that if the runner had already touched third base before the ball went out of play, he would get to score. Learn something new every day


#4

Can you explain this a little more - if the award is 2 bases at the time of the pitch why would he get awarded 3rd base on an overthrow to first? If the award is “at the time of the pitch” he would be at home plate. Giving him third would make the rule go into effect at the time of the dead ball. I’m confused Coach :confused:


#5

Once he kicks it out of his immediate range and has to run to retrieve it, it’s no longer first play by an infielder and the two bases are awarded from the time of the throw. At the time of the throw, the BR was already at first base, therefore he is awarded third.