Plyo ball routine for youth baseball

Alright guys, need advice and guidance here! I am a MS baseball coach and I actually do my best to run a program and not just a “team” IYKYK! I am looking into starting a plyo ball program with my pitchers. I have talked to multiple Doctors ( Physical Therapy & Chiropractics ) about this idea and the risk reward system.

I have decided to do more of an underload system rather than overload. Most of the drill will be done with (3.5oz, 4.4oz, 5.0oz) lighter or even plyo balls. The only over load we would do (for the most part) is for constraint drills and decelerator activities and the max we are going there would range from 5.3oz, 7oz, 8.8oz, 12oz. I have the plyo balls and mini trampoline ordered.

My goal is to make them better long term baseball players and keep them healthy. The Dr’s I spoke about earlier both agree the underload is safe and actually should be beneficial for my guys.

Do any of you have any input of this idea, drills, things to watch for, personal resources or programs you’d like to share? Thanks in advance!

I would recommend a healthy arm care program 1st which, if done correctly, can take 10 minutes or more for each player. This would or could include jaerger and cross over symmetry bands and exercises along with scap exercise, reverse throws etc. A good consistent arm care program can add a couple MPH of velo if they have not been doing one. If preferred throw footballs, it gives a heavier ball and if they can spin it or throw with a spiral the arm is pronating correctly. Another option to consider is just throwing an extra day of the week. Many of our incoming 8th grade players that play on our Freshman HS team experience arm discomfort due to their arms not being conditioned to throwing 5-6 days a week at practice. Our HS program does not introduce weight balls until the players have entered HS and only after an evaluation.